Templates by BIGtheme NET
২৫ মে, ২০২০ ইং, ১১ জ্যৈষ্ঠ, ১৪২৭ বঙ্গাব্দ , ১ শাওয়াল, ১৪৪১ হিজরী

4th phase upazila polls underway

প্রকাশের সময়: মার্চ ৩১, ২০১৯, ১১:৪৬ পূর্বাহ্ণ

The 4th phase of the 5th Upazila Parishad elections is underway in 107 upazilas of 16 districts under five divisions on Sunday.

The polling started at 8 am and will continue till 4 pm without any break.

About 1,142 aspirants are contesting for chairman, vice-chairman and women vice-chairman posts in the third phase of polls.

The fourth phase elections was scheduled to be held in 128 Upazila Parishads including six postponed upazilas’ elections in the three previous phases.

The Election Commission (EC) has suspended the elections to Dumuria (Khulna), Chhagalnaiya (Feni), Trishal (Mymensingh), Barura (Cumilla), Mathbaria (Pirojpur) and Kabirhat (Noakhali).

Besides, there will be no voting in 15 upazilas as candidates in all posts were elected unopposed.

The fifth phase of the Upazila Parishad elections will be held in 21 upazilas on June 18 next.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


two − one =